FANDOM


Sudeshna Bandyopadhyay, MD. Director of Pathology Residency Training Program


Dept of Pathology

Wayne State University School of Medicine

540 E. Canfield


Detroit, MI 48201


Tel: (313) 577-2752 Fax: (313) 577-0057

E-mail: pnelson@med.wayne.edu


Anatomic and Clinical Pathology Residency ProgramEdit

Number of residents (per year / total):

  • 3 per year/12 total

Visas Sponsored:

  • J1

Pros:

Excellent AP exposure, high AP board pass rate is result, good lectures in the morning, graduating residents get into highly-regarded fellowships

Cons:

AP focused. CP needs an improvement

Work load:

  • ~60-70 hours a week.

Are you allowed to do external rotations?

  • Yes, if not already available in our institution

Famous Faculty: Dr. Vinod Shidham, Dr. Suzanne Jacques, Dr. William Kupsky and Dr. Wael Sakr

Do you feel you have:

Adequate preview time? yes

  • Sometimes we don't but most of the time it's ok

Adequate support staff (P.A.’s, secretarial, etc.)? PA's are knowledgeable but can be difficult to work with, secretaries are friendly

  • Yes

Adequate AP Teaching?

  • Yes – dedicated AP didactics

Adequate CP Teaching?

  • Yes – dedicated AP didactics except in CC

Please send application to pnelson@wayne.med.edu

Cytopathology FellowshipEdit

Position Available: Two fellowships each year

Requirements: Candidates must be board eligible or certified in anatomic pathology or anatomic and clinical pathology, and be eligible for Michigan license.

Applications: Should be completed by August 1 of the preceding year. Send CV, personal statement, and three reference letters to: Vinod Shidham, M.D., Director of Cytopathology Fellowship Program (vshidham@med.wayne.edu) and cc Kathy Rost, Program Coordinator (krost@dmc.org)

Hematopathology FellowshipEdit

Positions Available: Two fellowships per year

Requirements: Candidates must be Board certified or eligible by the American Board of Pathology in AP/CP, and eligible for Michigan medical license.

Application: Send CV, three reference letters, and personal statement to:

Ali Gabali, MD, PhD, Fellowship Director (agabal@med.wayne.edu) and cc Pam Nelson, Program Coordinator (pnelson@med.wayne.edu)

Dr. Gabali and Jaratli are excellent pathologists, most cases in WHO 2008 are seen, great support staff, highly recommended fellowship!

Pediatric Anatomic Pathology FellowshipEdit

Position Available: One fellowship per year

Requirements: Candidates must be Board certified or eligible by the American Board of Pathology in AP or AP/CP, and eligible for a Michigan medical license. Application: Send CV, three letters of reference, and personal statement to:

Janet Poulik, M.D., Fellowship Director (jpoulik@dmc.org) and cc Maggie Klein, Program Coordinator (mklein5@dmc.org)

Surgical Pathology FellowshipEdit

Position Available: One fellowship per year

Requirements: Candidate must be Board certified or eligible by the American Board of Pathology in AP or AP/CP, and eligible for a Michigan medical license. Application: Send CV, three reference letters, and personal statement to:

Rouba Ali-Fehmi, M.D., Fellowship Director (rali@med.wayne.edu) and cc Pam Nelson, Program Coordinator (pnelson@med.wayne.edu)

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.